top of page
Search
  • trgoertzen

This is Luke


This is Luke.


He is my 11 yr old who is in 6th grade, and he is loving life in middle school. On the way home from baseball practice last week, we talked about giving your best, even when you don't feel like it.


He complained that it was too hot and tired from his long school day to give his full effort at practice.


Yes, it was hot outside, and he had been at school and his brother's soccer practice that afternoon...but you can always choose to work hard.


 

As a dad, I constantly worry and think about how my kids will respond to difficulties in life. How will they manage when the situation is not ideal?


I guess I then have to ask myself, what am I modeling for them?


What am I modeling for my family when life is difficult? Do I complain and blame...or do I get after it and finish the task?


Titus 2:6-8 is a good reminder.


In the same way, encourage the young men to be self-controlled in everything. Make yourself an example of good works with integrity and dignity in your teaching. Your message is to be sound beyond reproach so that the opponent will be ashamed, having nothing bad to say about us.


Raising kids has been way harder than I expected. Not that I thought it would be easy, but man, it is tough!


I know that no specific plan or method will guarantee their success or a positive path. I know I must first ensure I'm leading and guiding the crew to the best of my ability. Modeling for them in my conduct as a man in how I treat their mother, my parents, and folks I come into contact with.


Educators will often meet their students' parents and say, "The apple doesn't fall far from the tree, "... which can go in both a positive and negative direction.

You can learn much about a person from those that they spend the most time with and learn from. This message is as true for kids as it is for adults.


Craig Groeschel, in his book "Winning the War in your Mind," shares that,



we are always moving in the direction of our strongest thoughts - Groeschel

What is that for you?




As you and I consider the direction our lives and our parenting is moving, what is driving us?


What are the thoughts and aspirations that settle into your mind and how are those thoughts driving your relationships?


Trevor



36 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page