top of page
Search
  • trgoertzen

What being a Husker fan has taught me

Nebraska football has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Growing up in rural Nebraska in the '90s, all I knew was success and repeated National Championships. Every young boy who played backyard football wanted to be Tommy Frazier or Eric Crouch dashing through the defense.


In elementary school, Trev Alberts was my hero. I even asked my teacher to call me "Trev" in honor of the great Husker sack leader. When he went to the NFL, I got his rookie card and sent it off to be signed.


Trev signed the card and sent it back to me. When he reached the Athletic Director job at Nebraska, I was thrilled to be at a game where he was on the sideline and snagged a picture. I was a giddy little boy all over again as I told him my childhood story of changing my name to be just like Trev!


I have memories of riding in a tractor, cruising through the corn & bean fields with my dad as we listen to Nebraska games. The Nebraska football culture was a part of my childhood more than most any other thing.


All Husker fans have memories of the good years and the not-so-good...sadly, all we've known the last 20yrs is not so good...


Early in adulthood, I was so invested in the emotions of games that I'd give myself cold sores from the stress and fretting of the games. Emotional fatigue from the excitement and potential each Saturday wreaked havoc on my body.














Yet, year after year. New coach after new coach. Hope dashed again and again...I finally learned to embrace the experience and not dwell upon the game's outcome.



As easy as it is to say, it is much harder to accept.....



Husker football is incredible. It's a culture unto its own.


The crowd at Memorial Stadium gives me chills each time I walk up to the grand structure.



I have been fortunate to take the boys to many games and plan to continue the pilgrimage as often as possible. Chills still run through my body each time the tunnel walk begins.


Yet, it is a game. A game played by 20yr old kids.


I will always be a Husker, and my kids are embracing the life of a fan too. They may never know the greatness of multiple National Championships and Heisman trophies. But my kids will know the community and passion for the team's lifestyle and heritage.




Learning not to allow my emotional and physical well-being to be dictated by a game will be a lifelong challenge. I can only imagine that the highs and lows of Husker football are preparing me for the essential things in life....










90 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page