top of page
Search
  • trgoertzen

Why I left the principalship for Esports post #2

Updated: Aug 18, 2022


I went to college at Harding University to be a preacher. I played soccer for a season and quickly realized I wasn't any good at it! What I did discover was that I loved working with people. So, I did two summers as a youth minister intern in southeast Texas....like the swamps of southeast Texas. I love the people I served and realized my true calling was working with youth. Thus my change to education in the coming years at Harding.


At the recommendation of a friend, Jeff Hernandez (currently a principal in Arkansas) I went the middle school route. My first 9yrs teaching was AMAZING!! My wife was always annoyed with me for my excitement each Sunday night as I was giddy with energy to get to my classroom and my students on Monday morning.


I never had a bad day in the classroom or athletic arena as a teacher & coach.


Moving to administration was a very difficult discussion and one that took many, many years to come to. In my 8th year in the classroom, I earned my National Board Certification and I thought I'd never leave the classroom. With many great experiences with kids and families, I kept coming back to the classroom. Then, an opportunity to mentor teachers at a district level opened up and I felt called to make an impact on a broader level. My year in the district office taught me the power of a great leader and the impact an administrator could have on an entire school community.


Thus the big leap into administration; with the view and excitement to help kids and the community in a larger and long-lasting way.


Stepping into administration MUST be for the right reasons...AND at the right time in your career. Looking back, there is a part of me that thinks I should have stayed in the classroom longer...but that is all in hindsight now.


Serving as a school leader is a tremendous responsibility. You carry the weight of your students, staff, and the community on your shoulders.


I felt responsible for the well-being of each and every person in my building. I felt the weight of my staff's personal lives when they shared with me; I felt the weight of their mental health and job satisfaction. I do understand that as a principal, part of our job is to support and take care of our staff. This I do agree with....to an extent....but at what cost?


Is this the way it always was for school leaders? Have school leaders always felt the weight of their community on their shoulders?


I believe this is the core area that broke me as a school leader. Carrying the weight of hundreds on your shoulders.


Part 3 next week...more on the esports end...I promise.


Trevor





128 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page